Leaving town

I cannot remember the last time I had a chance to leave town and I have no idea when I will have another. I do know that my last holiday was when I was pregnant with my eldest daughter, Butterfly. I was living in NSW at the time, and I travelled up to Brisbane to visit my mother, brother and sister. Butterfly is nearly fifteen, now. I am hoping to go to Japan with my Mum in 2016. But I’m not sure if it’s going to happen. It seems like every time I begin saving for it, a new financial crisis comes along and, voila, my money is gone. It’s like an evil magic trick – now you see it, now you don’t. If I do get to go, it will have been 19 years since that distant trip to Brisbane.

On TV, it seems like everybody has an annual, or at least a bi-annual holiday – even if it’s only to visit the rellies. But who can afford that in real life? I see my mum once a year only because she visits us. Otherwise I would be limited to a voice on the phone. And I’m quite sure I am not the only one in this situation. Everybody is tight these days.

When was your last holiday? Where did you go and who did you go with?

What are your thoughts?

