My Top Ten Favourite Actresses

Angela Lansbury

I had a hard time with this list — more so than with the male actors — because, as far as I am concerned, most actresses these days are cast for their looks rather than their acting ability. However, there … Continue reading

30 Day Book Challenge Day 6:

Book You’ve Read the Most Number of Times I am a bit unsure as to the answer for this one, since I am assuming books read over and over (and over and over and over) to my children don’t count. … Continue reading

Fantasy Novelist David Eddings has Died

Cover of "The Redemption of Althalus [Lea...

Cover via Amazon

David Eddings, the acclaimed fantasy novelist and author of such series as The Belgariad and The Malloreon, has died at the age of 77. David Eddings was predeceased by his wife and writing partner Leigh two years ago.

David Eddings started his adult life as a college lecturer. However David Eddings soon found that writing was his main love, so he quit the job, worked at a grocery store to survive, while working on his<!– // –><!– // –> writing.

The early efforts of David Eddings did not bear much fruit, producing one adventure novel The High Hunt, about a deer hunt that goes wrong. Then a chance encounter with a copy of The Lord of the Rings suggested to him that he should try his hand at fantasy.

David Eddings’ first fantasy novel, The Pawn of Prophecy, was published in 1982. The Pawn of Prophecy was the first of a five part series called the Belgariad, a sweeping epic that centered on a young boy, raised in a peasant village, who turns out to be the hope of his world that is involved in a war of good vs. evil that not only involves nations, but ancient gods.

The boy of destiny and the cosmic war of good vs. evil are well worn themes in modern fantasy fiction. But David Eddings made the themes fresh with humor and sharp characterizations. The Belgariad spawned a sequel, the five part Malloreon, and several stand alone novels set in the same fantasy universe.

David Eddings also published two series, The Elenium and The Tamuli set in a different fantasy world and featuring a questing, medieval-style knight named Sparhawk. The Dreamers, another series set in yet another fantasy world, involves a battle of the gods and humans against an evil called the Vlagh.

David and Leigh Eddings also published a stand-alone fantasy novel entitled The Redemption of Althalus, about a thief who finds redemption fighting evil throughout the ages of his world.