Top Ten Holocaust Movies

A person would have to have been living under a rock to be unaware of the terrible tragedy known as the Holocaust. Despite the efforts of ‘deniers’ and the fact that genocide has occurred far too frequently both before and since, the Holocaust remains a black stain upon human history.

As a major historical event that affects our collective psyche to this day, the Holocaust is a favourite theme amongst writers and film-makers alike. I tend not to seek out films about this topic as I find them incredibly upsetting. Nevertheless, it is impossible to live long in today’s society without coming across at least some, and I have seen more than a few worth recommending.

Therefore, without further ado, I present to you my personal top ten list of Holocaust movies, ordered from ten to one:

Number 10

The Grey Zone (2001)

Number 9

Apt Pupil (1998)

Number 8

Bent (1997)

Number 7

Judgement at Nuremberg (1961)

Number 6

In Darkness (2011)

Number 5

Life is Beautiful (1995)

Number 4

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas (2008)

Number 3

Schindler’s List (1993)

Number 2

God on Trial (2008)

Number 1

Naked Among Wolves (2015)

The movie as shown on Netflix has English subtitles, but I was unable to find a trailer that has them. Still, this movie remains my top pick and I highly recommend watching it.

 

Comments

What are your thoughts?